Start as you mean to go on (pizza base and sauce recipe)

Well my little neolites, 2010 has started off well. Only 2 days in and I’ve managed to meditate every day this year (haha), plus I’ve finally had a random book recommendation, sparked amusingly enough by my reading Tess Of The D’Urbervilles. It’s Aldous Huxley’s A Brave New World, and it’s sitting in my pile of ‘stuff to read’ as we speak. Once I’ve finished reading Tess it’ll be next.

I’ve also done my two vegan recipes for the week. Check this out:

After all the roast dinners I thought it’d be nice to take a break, so I made pizza! Here’s the recipes to make your own.

The Base

1 tsp of Dried Active Yeast

1 tsp of Sugar

1/4 pint of Warm Water

150-200g Wholemeal Flour

Dissolve the sugar in the water, then add the yeast. Whisk until fully dissolved. Cover with cling film and leave somewhere warm for 10-15 minutes until it goes a bit frothy.

Whisk again, then add flour. Mix thoroughly adding more flour if needed until a good doughy consistency is found. Cover again and leave somewhere warm for 20-30 minutes.

(use this time to prepare your tomato sauce)

The dough should have increased in size by now. Punch it down and knead again for a minute or two, then cover and place back in your warm spot. Give it another 10-15 minutes.

(use this time to chop your veggies and grate your cheese)

The dough should be ready now. Press out into a flat round on a greased baking tray, cover with tomato sauce, veggies and cheese,  and stick it in a pre-warmed oven at 190 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until ready. Eat and enjoy.

The Sauce

1 Clove of Garlic

2 Tomatoes, chopped

2 tsp of Tomato Puree

1/2 tsp of Dried Oregano

Lightly fry the crushed garlic in a saucepan on medium heat with a little olive oil. Add tomatoes and cook, stirring occasionally. Add the tomato puree, oregano, and some salt and pepper, and cook until it’s all gone quite mushy. Then either blend it to get it nice and smooth, or just use as is (ie: a little lumpy) like I did.

Not two very complicated recipes, but if you fancy pizza they’re what you need. Coming soon will be my nut roast recipe, which I’ve pretty much perfected over Christmas, a recipe for pilau rice, and possibly a one for naan bread if I can get it to work. Stay tuned.

Ciao ‘migos. Catch you next time.

2 thoughts on “Start as you mean to go on (pizza base and sauce recipe)

  1. Pingback: Cooking, stretching and kicking ass!! « My Brand New Life

  2. Pingback: He’s A Winnah!!! « My Brand New Life

Leave a Reply

