Report 2 – Short but sweet (pilau rice and potato subji)

Not a lot to cover this week. Been one of my busy weeks in work – on shift 5 days out of 7, out the house from 10am to 9:30pm – so hasn’t been a lot going on. Managed to do some cooking though, which is pretty good, but no script writing, which is piss poor.

As you can probably tell by now, the script writing thing is a bit of a dream that I am somewhat unmotivated to follow. But! and it’s an important but, I can’t let it go. I have the ideas, I see the ideas, I work out the ideas. It’s something that interests me, and something that I enjoy doing. The boring part is sitting down and writing the bloody things. Unfortunately that’s the nuts and bolts of the whole process. 1% inspiration, 99% perspiration. And I lack the discipline to pursue it. However, I’m hoping that by not letting it go, by constantly bringing it up in this blog, that I’ll eventually shame myself into actually doing something. I hope so anyway, coz it’s got to beat all this perpetual vacillating I keep doing.

As for the food, check this out:

Pilau rice

Olive oil, splash of (for frying)

2 Cardamom pods, crushed

3/4 tsp Cumin Seeds

1 tsp Coriander, chopped

1/2 tsp Turmeric

1 Cinnamon stick

1 Bay leaf

1/2 cup Basmati rice

1 1/4 cups boiling water

Fry the crushed cardamom pods, cumin seeds, chopped coriander and turmeric in a saucepan for a minute or so. Add the rice and mix until all grains are covered with spices. Add the boiling water, bay leaf and cinnamon stick, then simmer until all the water has gone. Remove bay leaf, cinnamon stick and big bits of cardamon pods, then let it rest in pan off heat for a minute or so before serving. Can also add some fried mushrooms at the beginning (before spices) if you like it that way.

Potato subji

2-3 Potatoes

2 tbsp Oil

1 tsp Mustard seeds

1 tsp Cumin seeds

1/4 tsp Turmeric

a pinch of Cayenne

2 tbsp Coriander, chopped

1/2 tsp Salt

Dice the potatoes and par boil them in a saucepan for about 8-10 minutes.

Heat a frying pan on medium heat then add the mustard and cumin seeds to hot oil and fry until they start to pop (have a big pan lid handy to stop them going all over the place). Add the turmeric, coriander and cayenne. Mix, then add the drained potatoes and salt. Stir together until all the potatoes are covered in the spicy oil, then cook for a few more minutes until done.

The potatoes are an excellent side to go with any curry meal, and the rice is a great bed for whatever you’re making. I’ve put a bit more water in this recipe than I normally would for cooking basmati as the usual 1 cup of water to 1/2 cup of rice ratio came out a bit nutty. Could be something to do with coating the rice in oil first. Experiment and see what happens in your kitchen. I will get around to doing curry sauces soon. For the moment I just had to go with something simple.

So, in final summation

Recipes done:  Pilau rice and Potato subji

Writing done:  Nothing, again!, but this is the last time, I swear.

New thing done:  Bought myself a proper chef’s knife. Now this might not sound like much, but first of all let me tell you that this thing is gorgeous! It’s one of those posh Sabatier blades, should last me about 10 years, and cost over £50, which for someone as ‘frugal’ as I am is a significant step. The purpose however is the most important thing. I’m going to teach myself how to do that cool, whizzy, choppy thing the proper chefs do when they’re chopping onions and that. You know the one I mean. I know it’s a but showy offy but I don’t care, I think it’s very impressive and I want to know how to do it!

TTFN

2 thoughts on “Report 2 – Short but sweet (pilau rice and potato subji)

Leave a Reply

