Report 3 – A little Chinesey (Spring rolls and Garlic cucumber)

It’s Chinese night in the House of Kiki. Had a go at spring rolls for the first time ever. Turned out ok actually.

Here’s how I did it.

Spring Rolls

Splash of Oil

1 Carrot

5-6 Spring onions

6 Shitake mushrooms

1 tsp Cornflour

2 tsp Cold water

1 tsp Light soy sauce

1/4 tsp Sugar

pinch of Salt

1/3 of a bottle of Corn oil

1 pack Blue Dragon Vietnamese Spring Roll Wrappers

Slice the carrot, spring onion and mushrooms into really thin, short strips.

Mix the cornflour with the cold water in a bowl, then add the soy sauce, salt and sugar. Set aside for now.

Heat the oil in a wok and fry the carrots, mushrooms and spring onion until soft. Add the seasoning mixture from the bowl, heat for about 30 secs, then place on a plate in the fridge to cool completely.

Wash the wok, then fill with about an inch of oil and heat until hot enough to shallow fry (ie: quite hot). Meanwhile, prepare wrappers as per instructions – place in hot water for 15-20 secs until soft, pat dry until sticky – then fill with cooled filling and roll up. Place on plate ready for frying. NB: Be sure to get rid of large air pockets, otherwise they’ll balloon up when you put them in the oil. Trust me, I know!

When oil is up to heat stick in the spring rolls for a few minutes, turning occasionally (if you can, mine kept turning back over again) until cooked. Should only take 2-3 minutes ’til they’re done.

Serve with sweet chilli dipping sauce.

Garlic Cucumber

1 Cucumber, chopped

4-5 Cloves of Garlic, crushed

1/4 tsp Salt

1 tbsp Rice vinegar

1 tsp Sugar

Slice the cucumber lengthways, into 4 long sections, then cut out the seedy bit in the middle. Chop roughly into bit sized chunks.

Mix the other ingredients in a large bowl, then add the cucumber.

Mix, the refrigerate for a few hours – overnight if possible – until needed.

The spring rolls were easier than I expected them to be. Ok, so I had a few ‘blow outs’ (air pockets), and they stuck together when I tossed them in the oil – plus, I ended up with a wok full of used, slightly dirty, oil which I just had to decant back into it’s bottle (when cold of course) for future stir-fry use – but all things considered they were damn tasty and well worth the effort.

The garlic cucumber is something I came across in Hong Kong, and boy is it tasty! We don’t have a tradition of cold starters in the west, but let me tell you, we are missing out. Give this one a go and you won’t regret it. You can’t have too much garlic, and it benefits form a good stir now and then.

Other than that, here’s how this week has gone.

Recipes done: Spring rolls and Garlic cucumber

Writing done: None; again! I know, it’s rubbish, but I refuse to give up. One of these days my shaming myself online will result in some work. The more rubbish films I see – Avatar, Surrogates and Gamer, to name the most recent – the more I know that what I’ve got is needed and will get made; I just need to commit it to paper.

New thing done: Become a youTube star!!! Ok, not really, but I have gone online being interviewed about being a vegan (see previous post). It’s already illicited the odd comment but I won’t be replying. I’m not into having a big ol’ phisolophical (yes I know it’s spelt wrong) debate on the rights and wrongs of this, that and the other. It’s very much my thing that I don’t tell people what to do and I expect them not to tell me what to do. People get themselves all tied up in knots because they think they know what other people should do with their lives. All I know is that I know nothing, and until I do I’m dealing with my own karma and nothing else. The rest is somebody else’s problem (if they want it that is).

Ciao for now my little neolites. TTFN.

One thought on “Report 3 – A little Chinesey (Spring rolls and Garlic cucumber)

  1. The garlic and cucumber stuff lasts for ages. Here it is, a week later, and it’s still good! Been in the fridge, in a bowl, covered in cling film most of that time, but still… I’d have thought it’d have gone brown and soggy by now.

Leave a Reply

