Report 10 – Cool kicks and crap pasta

Well, last week was pretty solid in the Brand New Life. I did some interesting cooking, a small selection of new stuff, and some screen writing, which in many ways is most important of all. I also did my back in which means this week could go either way, but we’ll deal with that tomorrow. For now…

Recipes Done:

Kiki’s scrambled tofu & Butternut squash and mixed bean stew

New Thing Done:

My trainers and cowboy boots arrived from AlternativeStores.com and they are brilliant. Check out my new kicks.
new shoes
How good do they look? I’m well chuffed with them. The laces are a bit cheap and nasty but they are easily replaced. I’m telling you, a bargain at £30. I’ll be buying from them again.

Unfortunately the cowboy boots were a bit big, but I’ve returned them and so hopefully I’ll be getting a smaller size in a week or two. Can’t wait. I’ve bought a blue pin-stripe suit jacket and white shirt, and I reckon them with a pair of raggy jeans and some cowboy boots will look excellent. Looking forward to unleashing it on the world, hahaha.

Also, I tried gluten free pasta for the first time. Can’t say I was impressed. It’s made of corn, and when cooked it became kind of mushy and fell apart in the pan, especially when I mixed the sauce in. Seriously, I made enough to take some to work the next day, but it tasted so rank I binned what I had and made some stew instead; a pain in the arse to do late at night but it beat the hell out of eating that crap again: Trust me.

Writing Done:

Did five and a bit pages this week. It was well easy. I told you having a proper outline was essential. It makes the whole process a hell of a lot easier. In fact, it was embarrassingly easy, so much so I don’t know why I haven’t done more in the past. No excuses really.

You know why Prince is one of the most prolific recording artists of all time? Because when he has an idea he just can’t let it go. He’ll stay up all night if he has to, writing, recording, mixing, until he gets it just right. That’s why he has literally hundreds upon hundreds of unreleased tunes; and why I work for a Swedish TV company with chairs that give you back ache. Seriously, the difference between success and failure is ‘satisfaction’. Like it or not, if you’re satisfied with your life, satisfied with your situation, satisfied with what you’ve, got you’ll never achieve anything truly amazing in life. That’s just the way it is.

Me, I’m in the middle ground; kinda satisfied but not quite enough. There’s just some stuff I need to get out of my head – like the film scripts, an invention or two, and some strange ideas that need unleashing on the world – and ’til that’s done I won’t feel like I’ve done everything I was put here to do. That’s all. And I’m thankful for that, because it keeps life interesting, know what I mean?

Here’s to an “interesting life”. 😉

Leave a Reply

