Report 12: A new look and new ideas (& Chocolate Chip Cookies)

I was very discombobulated this week, and whilst it’s been fun having an excuse to use the word discombobulated in conversations with people, it really wasn’t worth the aggro.

Not that anything specifically bad happened, I was just so busy with work, and so physically drained after having the bad back, that I couldn’t get my head in gear or get anything done. In fact my ‘new thing’ this week came about by accident. I got paid on Thursday, so I could finally afford the new jeans I needed to complete the look I’ve been working on. It’s nothing amazing but I like it. See what you think.

kiki's new look

Works for me. Can’t wait to try it out on the world (still a bit too cold to go out with just a shirt and jacket on).

But the one up side of this discombobulated week is I’ve have had plenty of time to think about what I’m doing, what i want, and what I’m doing this blog for, and I’m going to make some changes.

First of all I’m going to stop doing two vegan recipes a week and stick to just one. I learnt with the Chilli Wedges that it can take a lot of experimenting to get a recipe just right, and sometimes I haven’t the time to make three or four versions of two different recipes. Plus you get pretty sick of eating the same stuff all the time, especially when it hasn’t quite worked. So from now on I’m just going to do one recipe and do it well. If I’ve time to do two or more great, but I’m not going to push it. There’s no rush after all.

Second I’m going to try and do more impressive new things, not that that’s always going to be possible (time and money being the biggest restraints), but where I can I’m going to do more adventurous things that involve more people. That was the point after all, to get me out of the house making new connections and possibly finding some chica to share the newness with, and I’m not achieving that staying home ordering vegan footwear off the internet.

And third… well, third I’m going to keep pretty much as it is. I mean I like reporting on what I’m up to script-wise, as it keeps it on my mind and makes me try and do more. I’m just not going to make it an integral part of the Brand New World. The more I can do the better, but if I can’t so be it. You can’t do everything, can you.

I think these changes are for the best. They are for me anyway. I’m not going to be a slave to a bloody blog for Christ’s sake! I mean think about it; this week I only had two days off, during which (if I’d stuck to the programme) I’d have had to do a new thing, which can take all day, write part of a screenplay, a session of which can take a good four or five hours straight, and invented two new recipes, again, many hours of cooking, all of which I’d have to fit around general life maintenance of washing, shopping and tidying up, not to mention a bit of me time for chilling out and the like. It’s just not do-able. So from now on I’m going to do less, better. It’s the way to go.

Anyway, enough of that nonsense. Here’s a recipe I think you’ll like.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

chocolate chip cookies

1 cup of plain flour
1 tsp of baking soda
1/4 tsp of salt
1/3 cup of dark chocolate chips
1/4 cup of unrefined sugar
1/3 cup of agave syrup (or maple syrup)
1 tsp of vanilla extract
1/4 cup of corn oil

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

Mix the flour, baking powder, salt and chocolate chips in a bowl. Mix the sugar, agave syrup, vanilla essence and corn oil thoroughly in another smaller bowl, dissolving as much as you can the sugar.

Add liquid mixture to the dry stuff and stir until just mixed (don’t over-do it). Put a sheet of grease-proof paper on a baking tray, then take small, slightly-larger-than-a-golf-ball, sized lumps and space out on it, pressing down so they make cookie shapes (I get about 10 from this mix).

Put in oven for 10 minutes or until golden brown (check after 8 minutes to be safe). Remove from oven and put on a wire rack to cool, and that’s it. A nice simple recipe that I’ll think you’ll enjoy.

Ciao 🙂

One thought on “Report 12: A new look and new ideas (& Chocolate Chip Cookies)

  1. Pingback: Hazel Gingernuts « My Brand New Life

Leave a Reply

