Week 13: Exercise and egos (& Suzette Rice)

Right, I’m well late for this ‘report’ but that’s ok, coz I’m going to chill out a bit about this whole blogging thing (hence the fact that it’s not a report anymore).

Last week I was too busy with cat sitting, work, and everything else to even get online, never mind do things, so I haven’t ‘achieved’ very much, though that depends on your point of view.

I did exercise every day, which is a first. I went to see a physio and he told me that my tight leg muscles were making me walk funny and causing the pain in my foot and back. Unfortunately he wanted over £228 for the privilege of sorting it out for me, and that’s far more than I can afford (or am willing to pay for a bit of leg stretches if I’m honest) so I’m just exercising at home with techniques I’ve got from friends of mine – lots of yoga/sports type stuff – and it’s working out ok. Definitely feel looser, and it can only get better.

katie goes ape

Bank Holiday Monday I did Go Ape again with the very lovely Katie (above). It was great fun, and it made me want to get out more, do more physical stuff. Y’know, the other day I did a quick list of Things I’d Like To Be If Time, Money And Effort Were Not An Issue and this is what I came up with:

1. Turntablist
2. Parkour Expert
3. Zen Gardener
4. Surfer
5. Buddhist Monk

Notice how they’re all physical (with the possible exception of Buddhist Monk, though it could be argued that the practice of mindfulness is the most physical activity of all). That’s what I should be doing with my life, something physical, not spending most of it in front of a computer. That’s why my legs are messed up, because I don’t get enough exercise. So, with that in mind, I’ve looked into doing a climbing course at the Westway Centre. They’re farily cheap for a taster session, and it looks like fun. I’ve always enjoyed climbing stuff, just never done it in any professional capacity. Well, now’s my chance. Just got to wait for pay day to roll around now.

Suzette Rice (or, la riz Suzette)

My recipe this week was going to be a dahl type thing, but I’m still working on it, so here’s a little something I made up whilst cat sitting, named in honour of my friend whose house I was staying at.

suzette rice

1 cup Basmati Rice
1 Onion, chopped
1 clove of Garlic, crushed
1 tsp Black Mustard Seeds
1 Bay Leaf
Olive Oil
2 1/4 cups of Water

In a pan on medium high heat fry the onion, and garlic for 3-4 minutes until they start to soften. Add the mustard seed and fry until seeds start to pop.

Add the rice, water and bay leaf, stir, then leave to simmer until all the water has gone.

Remove from heat, remove bay leaf, fluff up with a fork, then cover pan and let rest for a few minutes before serving.

It’s not a complicated recipe but it does make plain rice a little more interesting, both taste wise and visually too. And the first bite is with the eye after all, eh? 😉

Leave a Reply

