Week 14: Trees, tunes and tiltshifting

Spent most of this week just monkeying about, doing ‘stuff’. So, in no particular order…

bonsai 11th april 10

Re-potted my bonsai this week with the help of my friend Vanessa, who knows mucho about this kind of thing. It was easy enough done, and Ness was an excellent teacher (she did the one on the right, I did the one on the left – note the variation in quality of craftsmanship, hahaha). I think, once I get myself a proper garden, I’m going to get more into the bonsai thing. It’s a lot more complicated than you think, and a real art form.

In lieu of any script work this week I instead spent my time making iTunes playlists of the soundtrack albums for the films I’m going to write. I know, serious work avoision in action, but I couldn’t help it. Once I got into it I was in the zone. You should hear the one for “Fuck You, Satan!”, my horror/comedy movie, it’s brilliant!
Seriously though, the idea is to have some inspiration music to help get me in the groove when I start writing. It can be hard to get going so a little something to put you in the right frame of mind works wonder. That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it, so nyah! πŸ˜›

low tide at mousehole-tiltshift

I have an new online toy! www.tiltshiftmaker.com. For those of you that don’t know a tilt shift lens is one where by you can move the front part of the lens to varying angles, giving you a very narrow point of focus within the picture you’re taking. Basically you can take a photo of something real and it comes out looking like a scale model (see above). It’s an astounding effect when you get it right, and great fun to do.
Thankfully, for those of us without masses of expensive camera equipment, you can go online and ‘cheat’ it with a picture you’ve already taken. I spent several hours the other day making tiltshift pictures and a few of them are online to check out (click on the pic above to see them). I’m really pleased with the results and this is going to be something I’m going to play around with for a while, see where it takes me.

No new recipe this week. Been on night shifts so haven’t had my head in gear for days. But plan on doing a few this week to try and catch up a bit. Got one planned, one nearly done, and I should be able to do another this weekend. Looking forward to that.

TTFN.

2 thoughts on “Week 14: Trees, tunes and tiltshifting

Leave a Reply

