Week 15: Skint, sleeping, sunshine and stir-fries (Kiki’s Simple Student Stir-Fry)

My, but what a lazy ass week I’ve had this week. Would that I could say that I’ve achieved anything, but I ain’t. A ragged combination of night shifts, having no money, and sheer bloody nothingness has resulted in my doing even less than usual. I know, I know, I’m disappointed too, but what can I say? Such is the nature of things sometimes. All I can say is I’m resolved to do something about it! Still, at least the sun came out finally. 🙂

I’ve done a bit more tilt shifting, as per my previous post, and I’ve come up with a new recipe (to follow), so not a complete loss. Plus I have been working on my script ideas, in a vague been-thinking-about-them-and-working-out-new-outlines kind of way. ‘Fuck You, Satan!’ is moulding into something interesting, and I’m determined to finish ‘The Maraschino March’ soon too. Should be a lot easier now I’ve got no money.

Five days ’til pay day and I’m skint. Just ran out of cash. But, going to try and hold on, see if I can’t make it like I did in the old days. I mean I’ve got food in the house, and travel money, so there’s no reason why not, but still it ain’t gonna be easy. I’d kill for a bit of choclate for one thing!

Right, on with the recipe. This is something me and my mate Mark Koo invented one night with what we had in the cupboard. Turned out to be pretty damn tasty (much to our surprise). An easily adaptable recipe for whatever takes your fancy, providing you have soy sauce and something sweet to go with it.

Simple Student Stir Fry

simple student stir fry

1 onion, chopped
1 clove of garlic, crushed
olive oil
1 tin of braised tofu, mashed
1 tin of bamboo shoots, drained
1 tbsp cashew nuts, chopped (optional)
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tsp honey

In a frying pan on medium-high heat, fry onion and garlic until soft. Add tofu, bamboo shoots, cashews, soy sauce and honey. Fry for further 5-7 mins (until properly heated through) stirring thoroughly. Serve on a bed of rice.

See, real easy to make. I made the cashews optional as they weren’t in the original recipe, but I thought they added a bit of texture this time. And originally it was tuna instead of braised tofu, and golden syrup instead of honey, but I think this way is better.

Anyway, if you’re ever stuck for what to eat, stir fry whatever you have with soy sauce and honey and you can’t go wrong I reckon. Works for me anyway. 🙂

Right, next week will probably be a quiet one, what with 5 days of work and no money, but the week after I hope to start doing things properly. There’s a board game I’m going to get cracking with (I haven’t mentioned that one to you before), a rock climbing course to go on, and I’m determined to commit an act of trespass some time soon. Just need to find somewhere worth the effort.

TTFN

Leave a Reply

