Week 26: In which our hero sorts himself out (a bit)

Ok, I’m a bit late with my report this week. No excuse really. I’m just having a bit of trouble keeping track of time at the moment. Maybe it’s the summer days, maybe it’s the lack of markers (I’ve been spectacularly un-busy these past few weeks), but life had just been slipping me by. I’ll go to reply to an e-mail I just got, and realise I’d received it a week ago. Or I’ll be talking about next week, and realise I mean tomorrow. It’s both confusing and calming at the same time, for just as I’m “out of time” so I must conversely be “in the moment” and that’s not a bad place to be. 🙂

Truth be told I didn’t do much last week. More life maintenance – dentist, osteopath, barber – stuff like that. I did manage to do a recipe, the very fresh tasting Cabbage and Carrot Summer Salad, which is nice: And I managed to sort my recipes page out properly (link at top) so that you can actually find things instead of being confronted with a long list of recipes that even I couldn’t make head nor tail of. Now if you want to try something from a specific continent, or time of day, there it is, easy as pie. Mmm… Pie..!

I intend to do more stuff this week coming. I don’t think one recipe is quite enough for a week’s work, do you? I think a recipe a week plus something new is more the order of the day. And maybe something else too. I’m thinking about bringing film reviews into the picture. I’ve been doing the odd review on and off on my LoveFilm profile page and I think they’re ok, so I may incorporate more filmy stuff into the blog. I mean it’s what I’m into, what I know about, and you should always play to your strengths eh? Might also spur me on to do some more writing, you never know.

With that in mind I’ve been thinking about a list of Movie’s You Have To See! No point doing a top ten because you can’t put one above the other. For one thing I wouldn’t know what criteria to use. How do you compare genres? Budgets? Experimental against mainstream? It’s a fools errand. So I’m just going to make my recommendations and the rest is up to you.

With that in mind, if you haven’t seen Out Of Sight go get it right now! To me it’s the finest collaboration between Steven Soderberg and George Clooney. An amazingly stylish and ultra hip adaptation of Elmore Leonard’s novel, it deserved it’s oscar nominations just as Jennifer Lopez deserved the kudos she got for her superb performance.

There’s no way in which this movie doesn’t work. The writing, the editing, the colouring (Soderberg used different style for each city in the movie – bright colours for Miami, washed out blues for Detroit), every tune on the soundtrack is a gem, every character full and engaging, it has stood up to multiple watches and I expect to watch it many times more.

Also, it has in it one of the sexiest scenes ever committed to film. Clooney and Lopez are so cool, yet so vulnerable, and so into each other, it really gets to you. The writing is simple and direct, the lighting and camera work concise and unobtrusive, and it was for the editing of this scene that pretty much got the editor her Oscar nomination (I believe). But never mind all that, it’s just so damn sexy! If you need any more convincing to give Out Of Sight a go check out the scene below, but if you think you might give the movie a go try to hold off. Within the proper context, once you know the characters and know what they’re talking about, it works oh so much better!

Ok, so there you are. My first recommendation. Feel free to agree/disagree with the me as much as you like. And if you’ve anything you’d like to recommend yourself I’m all ears. 🙂

Cheers y’awl.

Leave a Reply

