Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

The absolutely coolest thing I’ve ever done is, for my 30th birthday, I hired out a screening room in Soho, got all my friends together, and had a surprise screening of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. It was great. No one knew what was coming except for me and my twin brother, and when I stood up, gave my little speech, then did that whirly ‘Roll VT’ hand gesture at the projectionist at the back (for which I got much derision) I have to admit, it felt pretty damn cool. But anyway…

This film is just brilliant. To my mind, the best film John Hughes ever did. “But what about The Breakfast Club?” I hear you ask, “And Pretty In Pink? And Weird Science?!” Ok, ok, all great films, but Ferris Bueller just has so many great scenes, and moments, and characters, that the rest just can’t compete.

I love Ferris. He’s just so damn cheeky; and cocky. If I could have been him when I was younger, I would have been (well, him or Dave Addison (Bruce Willis) from Moonlighting, he had all the best lines… but I digress). He just does whatever he wants, and gets away with it. Everybody loves him (except Mr Rooney, the Headmaster, played superbly by Jeffrey Jones), he’s got a gorgeous girlfriend (Mia Sara), and he gets to drive such a cool f*cking car, man!

And let’s not forget Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), his neurotic mate. Back up and best friend, he provides a lot of the grounding for the film, always there to remind Ferris of what he can and can’t do, of ‘reality’ if you like (and then Ferris goes and does it anyway). An important connection that keeps us ‘in’ the movie, whilst at the same time allowing us to realise the potential for real life to be just like it is in the movies.

Plus his journey, from basket case to hero, is a beautiful thing; I get all choked up every time I see it. “I will not stand idly by while events unfold to determine the course of my life! I’m gonna take a stand. Right or wrong, I’m gonna defend it!” Go on my son!!! šŸ˜‰

I had a tough time finding a clip for this one. One that didn’t give too much away that is. Here’s a bit from the opening. It gives you a flavour of what I’m talking about.

So, if you want to know cool, if you want to know fun, if you want to know what to do on your day off, go watch Ferris Bueller right now! You won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

Leave a Reply

