30 Days of Kiki : day 1

I’ve decided, as a kind of action of discipline/contrition for dropping the idea of doing weekly blog reports, to do the 30 Days of… thing as propounded by the lovely Seitanic Vegan Heathen. It goes a little something like this.

Every day you do an entry that fulfills the following criteria.

day 1- recent picture of you and 15 interesting facts about yourself
day 2- the meaning behind you blog name
day 3- a picture of you and your friends
day 4- a habit that you wish you didn’t have
day 5- a picture of somewhere you’ve been to
day 6- favorite super hero and why
day 7- a picture of someone/something that has the biggest impact on you
day 8- short term goals for this month and why
day 9- something you’re proud of in the past few days
day 10- songs you listen to when you are happy, sad, bored, hyped, mad
day 11- another picture of you and your friends
day 12- how you found out about blogging and why you do one
day 13- a letter to someone who has hurt you recently
day 14- a picture of you and your family
day 15- put you ipod on shuffle: first 10 songs that play
day 16- another picture of yourself
day 17- someone you would want to switch lives with for one day and why
day 18- plans/dreams/goals you have
day 19- nicknames you have and why you have them
day 20- someone you see yourself marrying or being with in the future
day 21- a picture of something that makes you happy
day 22- what makes you different from everyone else
day 23- something you crave for a lot
day 24- a letter to your parents
day 25- what I would find in your bag
day 26- what do you think about your friends
day 27- why are you doing this 30 day challenge
day 28- a picture of you from last year and now, how have you changed since then?
day 29- in this past month, what have you learned
day 30- your favorite song

Simple enough eh? Well, with that in mind, here goes:

day 1- recent picture of you and 15 interesting facts about yourself

have a cherry

I’m just showing off now. 😉 Still so chuffed I got to feed the animals at the London Tropical Zoo! The lemurs especially were my favourites.

Ok, now 15 facts!

1. When I was at art school I was on the verge of being kicked out. I had to do some extra work to hand in at the start of the following year to be able to stay on and complete the course. Over the summer holiday I forgot. By accident I handed in my current work to be marked and my new tutor, not realising the mistake (and not caring either), marked it and I ‘passed’. I went on to pass that course, and eventually get a degree. Technically I shouldn’t have.

2. Somewhere out there is a documentary in which I did the voice-overs for a Russian scientist and a bunch of random nazis. This came about as I was working at a post production house and the clients didn’t have enough artists to do the whole thing. I’ve also voiced a displaced African tribesman, a pirate, and a spy.

3. Reading Gandhi’s autobiography inspired me to make a solemn vow to give up smoking, on the 23rd of May 2005, and I haven’t had a cigarette since. Nice on G!

4. I’ve got a tattoo of the Chinese symbol for Tao on my left shoulder blade. I’m also thinking about getting another tattoo done on my right shoulder.

5. I always have a notebook on the go in which, as well as ‘organising’ my life, I record random sayings and one-liners that I think it would be amusing for as yet uncreated characters to say say in as yet unwritten movies.

6. I fantasise about building my own house. It will be a geodesic dome!

7. I built my own bed. I made it out of two wooden pallets which I had to cut down, sand, and varnish. I did it all by hand. It was a couple of years before I put legs on it, but now I have and it’s way cool.

8. Lava lamps fascinate me.

9. I like to go to the coffee shop round the corner, scootch down in one of their sofas, and spend hours just sat there drinking tea and reading noir crime novels (usually one of Richard Stark’s Parker stories).

10. When I was 10 my twin brother and I were almost killed by carbon monoxide fumes. The heating system in the house, instead of venting the exhaust fumes outside, was pumping them back into the house. We were exposed for a few hours (my mum went out to visit her dad in hospital when my dad and two older brothers came back from work, so they all had less exposure thank God) which gave us headaches and a ringing in the ears. Then we collapsed (separately) and couldn’t get up again. I know what it feels like to be paralysed! Fortunately my dad and brothers took us outside and got us some air while the ambulance was called for. We spent a couple of days in hospital but in the end were fine. The heating system didn’t fare as well. Within 24 hours it was a big pile of metal in the lawn. And good riddance I say!

11. There used to be 3 films that made me cry – It’s a Wonderful Life, Scrooged and The Abyss. These days pretty much any episode of Extreme Makeover Home Edition gets me going (which is especially embarrassing when I’m at work).

12. I met Neil Gaiman once. I was dying to ask him some questions but every time I started his phone went and I got interrupted. Then I had to leave. I was a bit gutted about that.

13. I worked for the Edinburg Film Festival in 1997 and 1998, and I had the best time. If you ever get the chance to do something like that I heartily recommend it. I met so many lovely people, saw so many new films, and drank so much free booze. One of the best ideas I ever had.

14. I want to ride an elephant and see the Northern Lights before I die (but not at the same time, that’d be weird).

15. I quite like my new moustache. It may stay.

Man, that was tough. Fifteen is a lot of facts, and trying to remain interesting… phew! Stay tuned for 29 more days of random Kiki action. Tomorrow, what’s ‘my brand new life’ about?

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Kiki : day 1

  1. I didn’t think it possible to adore you any more than I already do, but upon reading this my heart doubled in size in my adoration of you. You are one of my favorites!

  2. Pingback: A New Life In 30 Days? « My Brand New Life

Leave a Reply

