30 Days of Kiki : day 10

day 10- songs you listen to when you are happy, sad, bored, hyped, mad

This is in no way a definitive list. I’ve got 2596 tunes on my iTunes, and dozens of CDs. For me to pick just five is downright ludicrous! That being said, here’s what came out my mind first:

Happy
This was the toughest one to do, oddly enough, as it’s such a blanket emotion where do you start? In the end I plumped for tunes that you’d listen to whilst driving on a hot summers day with the top down.

The Boo Radleys – Wake Up Boo

Len – Steal My Sunshine

Sad
So many to choose from, as my ‘sad’ tunes coincide pretty well with my ‘chill out’ tunes, but in the end I picked two that I consider truly melancholy (and hauntingly beautiful).

Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah

Tom Waits – I Hope That I Don’t Fall In Love With You

Bored
Bored? What does that mean? I listen to tunes that enhance my moods. Who listens to music to perpetuate their boredness? When I’m bored I do stuff, so I picked two tunes that inspire me when I’m writing.

Fever Ray – When I Grow Up

Joni Mitchell – Big Yellow Taxi

Hyped
Now you’re talking! This I can do. This box I can tick. No lack of hyper here. The question is how to pare it down? Right now, two tunes leap to mind. One, an absolute classic of old, the other a classic of now.

Underworld – Born Slippy

Florence and the Machine – Dog Days

Mad
I’ve got a special playlist for when I’m on the buses, to drown out all the fools and the mumblies. It’s called Go F*ck Yourself, and every tune on there qualifies for this category. My first is the tune of choice for oh-so many X Factor haters here in the UK, and it’s partner has what I consider one of the best guitar solos of all time on it.

Rage Against The Machine – Killing In The Name Of

Pearl Jam – Alive

Well, them’s me tunes. Hope you enjoyed the embeds. For those of you who are into their ownership I’ve complied them all into a cheeky little download for you to enjoy, but get in there quick as it’ll disappear if no one downloads it for a week!

Leave a Reply

