Handing over the big comedy cheque

Well, after 2 months of fund raising and moustache growing I finally handed over the big comedy cheque to the London Tropical Zoo on Friday.

handing over the comedy cheque

The lovely fella I’m shaking hands with is Tony, whose family owns and operates the zoo. I didn’t catch the name of the snake, though he did whisper it in my ear (as you can see).

I was well chuffed with the cheque. I made it myself with a lot of free-hand type and designing on the fly. Came out pretty nice in the end I reckon.

big comedy cheque

I raised a total of £377 cash (which in real terms becomes £473:46 after they claim the tax back). Not bad for a bit of facial hair and loads of support from a lovely bunch of people (and by that I mean YOU).

Thank you everyone who made a donation. I was honestly amazed to not only reach but surpass my target, and that’s all thanks to my friends and family for supporting me so generously. You’re the best.

Winner of the cookies was Steve Arnold, one of my Tai Chi compadres, and the prize for the largest donation went to the lovely Rikki Hale who lives in Phoenix, Arizona (how international is that!). She’s received her goodie pack along with my heartfelt thanks and I’m happy to say she seems to like it all. What Steve thinks of his cookies remains to be seen. 😉

Gracias amigos, for all your help. It’s been a good laugh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

