Week 44 : Frustrations

I’ve been trying to decide this week whether to continue with this blog or not. As I come up to 1 year of blogging I have to admit that My Brand New Life has pretty much failed in it’s mission; ie, to generate a brand new life. I’m still in the same job, in the same flat, still single, and still uncertain about where I want to go next.

It hasn’t been a complete loss. I’ve given up drinking booze. Yesterday was my 6 month anniversary of that (not counting a couple of mojitos I had a couple of months ago) and I’m happy with that decision. I’ve also done a lot more writing this year than usual, and I may have a script and/or book finished by the end of the year. And generally I’ve done lots more new stuff that I’ve found quite interesting (full report/examination on December the 6th). But is it enough?

Truthfully, the answer is no, it isn’t. I need to do more to be satisfied. But it’s a start, and that’s better than nothing. Is it enough to keep going with this blog though? Now there’s a question. I’ve already started thinking about doing a vegan specific blog, and if I decide to do a filmy one too what does that leave for here? It is a quandary.

I’d been pondering all this, then I came across this quote:

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could; some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you will begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

–Ralph Waldo Emerson


I need to let go of what was and move forward from where I am now. Like I tell people when they ask about becoming vegan, you’ve got to forgive yourself. You’re going to make mistakes, what matters is where you go from here. Don’t use them as an excuse to give up, use them as a starting point to begin again.

And so…

I’ve signed up to do a 6 week introductory yoga course at the Sivananda Yoga Centre. I met them at the Yoga Show last Sunday and they were just so nice I had to pop along to their open house yesterday. Again, everyone there was really lovely. The course was very knowledgeable, the introductory lesson nice and simple yet challenging and concise, and I was generally impressed by their warmth, openness and understanding, so much so that I signed up there and then. I’ll have to swap some shifts around to make the classes but it’ll be worth it. I have a feeling I’ll be doing yoga for quite a while.

5 thoughts on “Week 44 : Frustrations

  1. Keith,
    Things don’t happen over night my love. You have opened your heart and mind to new possibilities and that is more that most can say. You have started writing, quit drinking and now this new yoga, I would say every one of those things is contributing to your brand new life. I think you have already transformed into a butterfly. (: Be patient and be kind to yourself. As for the job thing, it is hard to quit and do what makes you happy. I quit my job, but only because I have Tim to help me through this. Unfortunately we live in a society that requires money to survive, so for the time being you will have to keep your job, but remember, your job is not your life, it does not define who you are, it just provides the funds to pay for who you are outside of work. (:

  2. Love that quote. I need to remember that more often. Sometimes we feel like we waste a day or two, or three… But maybe we needed some 100% rest days to make the days we give 100% active and doing worth while. I think you have done a lot! quit drinking for one, very impressive and inspiring. 🙂

  3. Hey Mr D, all you have to do is look at what you’ve done in the past year, soooo many new experiences, some of which, I’ve been tres lucky to share with you. 😉
    Thank you!

  4. Thank you everyone for all the comments and e-mails. I really appreciate the love and encouragement you’ve all taken the time to send my way. All excellent reminders to view the glass as half full, rather than half empty. Space Hugs to you all.

    Kiki xx

Leave a Reply

