Good Karma / Bad Karma

Good Karma

The place where I go to yoga has this idea called Karma Yoga. Basically it means doing something for others. A task, a good deed, just being selfless for a moment to ‘exercise’ your karma. I did some last week after class, hoovering the room we’d just used, and I thought that was my bit for the week. But I got an opportunity to do much more the day after.

Came home from a night shift Thursday night (7am Friday morning) to find my upstairs neighbour and her boyfriend huddled shivering in the hallway (it was -2 outside). Turns out they’d gone out for a cigarette in the night and accidentally locked themselves out of the flat. I guess it’s lucky for them they hadn’t gone all the way and locked themselves out of the house too.

I offered them a cup of tea which they refused (they’d been to McDonalds at 6am to get a coffee and warm up a bit), so I gave them a blanket – they said they only had a half hour wait of so before her friend down the road who had a spare set of keys would be getting up – and started to get ready for bed.

But as I contemplated climbing into my nice warm bed with them shivering in the hall outside it just seemed daft to me. So I invited them in, stuck the heaters on, gave them a cuppa, and we chatted for an hour or so until her friend would be up, then they went on their way. I felt pretty good for doing that.

Sometimes we are fortunate in life, and our path is clear.

Bad Karma

I watched The A-Team the other night, and I was very disappointed about their blatant mis-appropriation of a Gandhi quote to justify killing people.

Basically BA Baracas had an epiphany in prison, and decided that killing people is wrong. But when the big fight at the end comes Hannibal decides he needs him the way he was before, so he uses the quote, “It is better to be violent, if there is violence in our hearts, than to put on the cloak of nonviolence to cover impotence.” Apparently that is enough for BA to give up his peaceful ways and go back to whacking bad guys.

The full quote goes something like this, “It is better to be violent, if there is violence in our hearts, than to put on the cloak of nonviolence to cover impotence. Violence is any day preferable to impotence. There is hope for a violent man to become non-violent. There is no such hope for the impotent.” Basically, it’s better to do something rather than nothing; but it’s better to be non-violent than it is to be violent (click the link to check out a much more detailed and eloquent explanation).

When they first brought up the BA non-violence angle I thought they were going to do something clever with how, in the TV series, they used to blow things up left-right-and-centre and no one ever got killed. So when they just did a reverse and decided to go back to killing (and used Gandhi to advocate violence!) I was gob smacked. If I was involved in the making of this film I would be ashamed of myself for being a party to such a thing.

Leave a Reply

