Bulgar, Bean and Butternut Squash Stew

Here’s a little something I came up with to get a good mix of nutrients all together in one place. The beans, the bulgar, the watercress, it’s all good. šŸ˜‰

bulgar, beans and butternut squash stew

1 onion, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 tbsp olive oil, for frying
1 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp ground turmeric
1 butternut squash, diced
1 tin mixed beans, rinsed
1/4 cup bulgar
750ml vegetable stock
1-2 handfuls of watercress, chopped
salt, to taste

In a large saucepan fry the onion, garlic and cumin seeds in olive oil until onions have gone soft.

Add the turmeric, squash, beans, bulgar and stock. Bring to boil and then simmer for 15-20 minutes or until the squash is fully cooked.

Add watercress and salt and simmer on a low heat for a further 5 minutes.

Serve and enjoy.

Now the qualifying statements:

1. The ingredients listed are slightly different to the ones I used in the stew pictured. In the one pictured I used 1/2 a cup of bulgar, but I found that over night this tented to soak up a lot of the juices and make the stew a lot thicker than I’d intended, so I think it will work better with half the amount.

2. I also had some sweetcorn in the one pictured, but that was just coz I had some left in the fridge and really it didn’t add anything to the taste so I decided to leave it out.

3. There’s also just less than a handful of watercress in the one I made, as again that was all I had left in the fridge, but I think it will work better with more in, so I doubled the quantity in the recipe.

4. Finally, when I made mine I used 500ml stock, and 250ml plain water, but you couldn’t really taste the stock in there, so I think all stock would be better.

I was in two minds about posting a semi-tested recipe. But it’s a decent enough little recipe and I wanted to let people have a play with it if they wanted. Was it a good idea do you think? Or is it best to try, try, try again before posting stuff? Let me know.

Ta. šŸ™‚

One thought on “Bulgar, Bean and Butternut Squash Stew

Leave a Reply

