Cooking, stretching and kicking ass!!

I’m a little bit spacey at the moment as I’ve just got back from my yoga class and I’m a little ‘stretched out’ if you know what I mean, so you’ll have to bear with me.

spinach, tomato and pepper pizza

Made this pizza the other day and it came out real nice. I used my basic pizza recipe but with a few tweaks which I think make it better. As follows…

1 1/2 tsp yeast
1 1/2 tsp sugar
a pinch of salt
a splash of olive oil
1/4 pint warm water
200g+ plain flour

Hand whisk yeast and sugar into water until dissolved. Add salt and olive oil. Whisk again. Add flour until it makes a sticky dough (figure out how much for yourself, but go easy, do it in increments; remember, it’s easier to add more flour than it is to take it away), cover with cling film, then put it somewhere warm – next to a radiator for example – for 30 mins ’til it rises.

Punch down, knead a bit, cover and let rise again for another 10-15 mins. Spread by hand onto an oiled baking tray, dock (prick) with fork, then top and put in hottest oven (pre-heated to about 230C) for approximately 10 mins.

I’m well pleased with the crust on this. It came out nice and golden. There was a bit of liquid in the middle from the cherry tomatoes on top, but it wasn’t a deal breaker so not to worry. I scoffed the whole thing in about 5 minutes, which says it all really. Yummers!

NB: “Yummers” is my new word of the month. I’m trying to get it in the collective psyche / lexicon. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. 😉

the warlock of firetop mountain

Well, I’ve almost completed The Warlock of Firetop Mountain. I did it once without cheating, got to the end, but didn’t have the correct keys to open the chest (which was always the problem before). Then I kind of did it again, using the map I’d made to go places I hadn’t gone before, but this pretty quickly degenerated into fingers in pages, notes of numbers, and instant victories in battle (ie: cheating on an epic scale!). I still plan on doing it again (properly) soon, but for now I’ve had enough. The Warlock has defeated my once more. Curses! ..lol.. 🙂

Yoga Update: I’m getting very comfy with touching my toes whilst sitting with my legs straight out in front of me, which is a big thing for me. I couldn’t get near them when I first started. And tonight we did the half head-stand for the first time, which I could do but I couldn’t hold for long. Hopefully by next week’s lesson I’ll be much better. Going to incorporate leg raises into my daily routine which will help me with the head-stand for sure. Got five days off now, so plenty of time to practice. Still loving it too! Yoga is brilliant.

Finally, not gonna bang on about work as I intended. Quite simply, if I’m still doing the same job by the end of the year something has gone terribly wrong. I am pursuing alternative revenue streams with a dogged tenacity at the moment. Life’s too short to be spent in a dark room watching TV all day. Kiki needs his sunshine. C’mon the summer!!

One thought on “Cooking, stretching and kicking ass!!

  1. Pingback: He’s A Winnah!!! « My Brand New Life

Leave a Reply

