Still ill :(

Well, I thought the flu had abated, but it’s back as a tickly cough that’s settled itself comfortably in my chest and looks like it’ll be there for a while.

So annoying being ill. There’s so much I want to do and it’s getting in the way. Could be a lot worse though. Just reading My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor. She had a stroke when she was 37, and it set her back a good 8 years. NB: If you haven’t seen her Ted talk yet you simply must! I’ve blogged about it before but it’s certainly worth mentioning again. Very emotional and inspiring.

So really I shouldn’t complain. Things could be a lot worse. Despite the cough I’m stuck in the house today anyway, waiting for a delivery I have to sign for. Going to take the opportunity to do some writing after I’ve done this post. Want to look again at the book I started and see where it goes.

I also keep thinking about opening a bakery. So many things are conspiring to keep it in my mind I can’t not think about it. Keep constructing the menu in my head. The big question at the moment is how much would be sweet (cakes) and how much savoury (pies)? And would I serve tea and coffee, meaning most people would expect cows milk to go with them, or just herbal drinks? Decisions, decisions. For now I’m just going to test a few recipes. Check out this one for Chocolate Chocolate Chip cookies from Veganomicon.

chocolate chocolate chip and walnut cookies

Nice huh? The mixture was very wet when I put it on the tray, which looked a bit suspect to me, but they came out nice and moist and chewy, so I obviously did something right.

Starting Yoga 3 tonight at the Sivananda Centre. Can’t wait for that. Hopefully the cough won’t get in the way, though who knows. Could go either way. Thinking about going twice a week now too. Want to push ahead with my practice and get to a comfortable level. Think my progress is stagnating a little.

Anyway, that’s all for now. Time for some honey, lemon and ginger tea.

3 thoughts on “Still ill :(

  1. I went to both Sweet Pea Bakery and Back To Eden Bakery in Portland and both are Vegan, and believe me people came from far and wide for not only their treats but their tasty coffee as well. People who are lactose intolerant, or abstain from dairy for religious reasons much appreciate the alternative.

    • Was just thinking of placating the non-vegans who might wander in but y’know what, sod ’em. There’s enough Starbucks and Costa Coffee’s for them, let’s have one just for us, eh. 😛

Leave a Reply

