Hazel Gingernuts

I’ve been trying to come up with an original recipe for a chocolate chip cookie, and it ain’t easy.

I started off adapting my chocolate chip cookie recipe, by simply adding cocoa powder instead of some of the flour, but it came out way too dry. So I added more liquid, but then they came out like little flat cakes! (NB: Keep an eye out for a brownie recipe, coming soon. ;)) Then I got bored of eating half-arsed chocolate cookies, so I ditched the cocoa and came up with these instead.

hazel gingernuts

makes 15-18

1 1/4 cup plain flour
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup hazelnuts, chopped
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup corn oil
1/4 cup soy milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Pre-heat oven to 180C. Sift the flour, baking soda, ground ginger and salt into a large bowl. Roughly chop the hazelnuts.

In another bowl mix the sugar, corn oil, soy milk and vanilla extract. Add the wet mixture to the dry and mix together until just combined. Add the hazelnuts and stir in evenly.

Line a large baking tray with greaseproof paper. Make golf ball sized lumps of the dough and press them flat on the greaseproof paper. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes until done. Cool on rack.

I’ve still got to come up with an original chocolate chip cookie recipe, but this one will do for now. Another notch to the bow. So far the reviews are good, which works for me. Hopefully if I ever do open my own bakery these guys will make it onto the menu. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hazel Gingernuts

  1. these sound good, my only addition would be chopped crystalized ginger pieces because adding more ginger would just be amazing!

Leave a Reply

