Reasons To Be Cheerful… 1, 2, 6!

Recently I’ve been concentrating on the negative side of things, and whilst this has been helpful in instigating change, it doesn’t help to wallow. After all, the negative is just one side of the coin. Sometimes you’ve got to accentuate the positive too.

I had a moment today as I strolled through the rain to the shops where I passed under a tree, and the pitter patter of drops on my umbrella ceased briefly.

In an instant I remembered how much I like being outside in the rain (provided I’m under cover that is). I remembered the day when it rained back home, and I took a chair and an umbrella out into the garden and just sat there enjoying the rain and not getting wet.

I was young, it was a simple pleasure, and remembering that made me think of all the other things I enjoy in life. Here, so far, is my list for today.

1. Being outside in the rain

cottage in the woods

I love the atmosphere in the air when there’s a good rain on. If I’m indoors I’ll open a window or a door just to enjoy it. When I build a house I’ll have a massive covered rear doorway so I can open it wide during a rainstorm and enjoy it as much as possible (without getting wet).

2. Cherry flavours

fruit n' cake

Dunno what it is at the moment, but I’m loving all things cherry. Cherry yoghurt, cherry apple juice, no cherries as yet (out of season I think), but it’s just a matter of time.

3. When God wakes me

hyde park at dawn

I hate my alarm. It’s just wrong on so many levels. The best days are when God wakes you. When you rise of your own accord feeling refreshed and alert and ready to enjoy the day.

4. Richard Stark

richard stark

I love his books, not only for what he’s written, but for the inspiration he’s given me to start on a novel of my own for the first time in ages. Seeing that an author can get published for writing such simple, concise, yet gripping stories has been a real eye opener for me, and in many ways has given me permission to value the way in which I write and to do it for the love as much as anything else.

5. Tea

tea at the tate (with soya milk)

There’s nothing like a good cuppa, either with a good book (see above) or, even better, to share with a good friend. Lazy afternoons down the Kitchen Pantry chatting nonsense and dreaming of better things in lovely company; there’s no better way to spend the day.

6. A full English

square meal

If a picture paints a thousand words, then nuff said methinks. šŸ™‚

So what do you enjoy? What makes it worth getting out of bed in the morning?

2 thoughts on “Reasons To Be Cheerful… 1, 2, 6!

  1. Oh yes, it really gives you so much to sit down and remember the good things in life, since we often only concentrate on the negative bits! I also remind myself from time to time, to stop for a second, breath, and stay there in just that moment for a while (if it’s a good one, that is). For example, last week when I thought it was like shit at work, my whole bodie ached, and I was soo tired… then, when spending 2 hours on the horseback in the evening after work, perfect weather, lots of different smells in the air and lovely wild nature… I was sooo grateful for being there right then and I thanked my horse for being the one to take me away from all troubles, better than anyone.

    Ps) I love the last bit about: “let’s play chess…!” šŸ™‚

    • That sounds so good. šŸ™‚ You’re so lucky to be able to take that time out, and on horseback no less! It’s good when we recognise when we are blessed, it makes the lesser moments in between easier to deal with.

      You should watch Blazing Saddles (the clip). It’s a brilliant movie. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

