4th Annual International Kiki Day

September 14th : International Kiki Day. A day when all Kiki’s take a break from ‘real life’ and go out and do something less boring instead.

This turned out to be a bit of an odd one for me. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do, and in the end what I chose to do conspired together to mess with my head a bit; but I’ll get to that later.

I started off with a trip to the cinema. Been wanting to watch Rise of the Planet of the Apes for a while now. I’ve been following the announcements of how great the special effects were, so I was keen to check them out for myself.

All told I have to say very good. The effects were still very much effects, it’ll be a while before they are able to totally fool an audience 100% of the time, and the script was thin and underwritten as so much coming out of Hollywood is these days, but I enjoyed it and I’ll probably go see the sequel when it comes out.

What I found hard was the theme of animal abuse. The casual cruelty depicted that we find in real life too. And the use of animals to experiment on. I understand the arguments for it, I just don’t think we have the right.

These thoughts came to bear when I went on to my next activity, visiting the London Aquarium.

As you would expect they had all manner of undersea creatures for you to look at. Here’s just a selection of what I saw.

faraway turtle
 
spiny fish
 
jellies!
 
They were all beautiful to look at, and I was enjoying seeing them all – I even got to touch a starfish, which was weird – when I suddenly felt bad about being there.

I mean I know it’s different looking at fish in a aquarium, fish that are probably very well taken care of, but ultimately it still comes under the banner of human being messing with nature for our own purposes, and I’m sure given the choice they’d rather have stayed where they were, in the wild.

I’ve got to be honest, I tried not to think about it too much as I went round, but I certainly had mixed feelings about being there; especially when I got to the penguins.


 
I console myself with the high level of care the must receive, to survive in such an artificial environment, but I’m definitely going to think twice about doing something like that again. Kind of makes me wish I’d gone with the alternative, and gone to a play at The Globe Theatre instead.

I ended the day with a yoga class and a bit of chanting and meditation. I was in two minds about doing this, as it qualifies as something ‘productive’ (which goes against the ethos of International Kiki Day), but I placated myself with the idea that I would indeed visit The Globe very soon, and thereby make it up to the Universe.

Leave a Reply

