30 Days of Meditation: day 3

A little better today. I did manage to concentrate on my breathing for some of the session, but strangely for the bits where my mind went off on one I was preoccupied with remembering.

Often you can end up fantasizing things that haven’t happened. Conversations you are going to or would like to have, or incidents you imagine might happen, if… But today I just kept either remembering stuff I’d seen on TV, or things I had done in the past, without any embellishment (like things I wish I’d done).

The only over-riding theme was one of negativity. I wasn’t remembering very positive experiences. Just one of the many reasons I don’t watch negative stuff on TV (or Tv at all for that matter), because there’s enough bad stuff in my head already without filling it with other people’s imagined junk as well.

But ultimately it doesn’t matter what the thoughts are, you deal with them the same way, by realising you are not being mindful and bringing you attention back to your breathing as soon as possible.

I like what I’m doing. And I’m glad I cut down the exercise portion as well. I want to make this a regular thing, and three hours is far too much to incorporate into your daily life. But half an hour of meditation along with half an hour of exercise every morning I can do, even when I start work at 7am.

And if I can only do the meditation so be it, but I do want to keep up with the exercising as well. I think it’s making a big difference to how I approach the world each day. Just that bit more involved, that bit more open to what might happen.

At least I think it’s the exercise. Could be the meditation. I suppose I should experiment and find out.

Leave a Reply

