30 Days of Meditation: day 8

For the first time since starting this events conspired to put my meditation session right at the end of the day, and I have to say I don’t think that that is ideal.

With the builders being in all day, and then going out to yoga in the evening, I didn’t sit down to meditate until 11:30pm. I was quite tired and all I really wanted to do was go to bed, but there was no way I was going to lapse on my 30 day challenge.

So I sat, and my mind drifted, and my shoulders/back hurt because I was slumping, and I even opened my eyes to check the time (1 min 14secs before the end) which I’m disappointed in doing.

And what did I learn from this session? Well, if you’re going to meditate last thing do it by design, don’t be forced into that position. As for me I think I’m a morning person. And if not morning then as soon as I’m free that day. Delaying until you have to squeeze it in is unhelpful, makes it more difficult, and you don’t feel the benefits.

So, don’t meditate tired; oh, and blow your nose properly before you sit down. It’s very hard to concentrate on the sensation of air around the rim of your nostril when there’s a whistling sound coming out of there every time.

Leave a Reply

