Comedy Triptych

Ok, so we’ve had a lot of meditating and soul searching recently. Now it’s time for a few laughs.

In England there are a few classic comedy sketches that I think are worth sharing. I don’t know how well they’ll travel overseas, as there’s some very British in-jokes, but I think you’ll all get a few laughs out of them.

The first one is by British comedy legends the Two Ronnies, and needs no explanation really. Just a great routine on a par with Monty Python’s parrot sketch.

The second is by an bunch of Indian comedians, and is a classic reverse on the pissed up Englishmen going to a curry house, a very ‘traditional’ scene you often used to get on a Friday and Saturday night.

And the last one, not actually a famous classic but in my opinion absolutely hilarious, is the end scene from Reservoir Dogs as done by the Women’s Institute. You don’t realise just how much swearing is in there until you hear it done by a bunch of old women.

(apologies for the quality of this one, but it was the only online copy I could find)

🙂

4 thoughts on “Comedy Triptych

  1. Also the sketch about Gerald the ape on Not The 9 o’clock news????

    That line ‘wild, I was absolutel livid’ is a classic!!!!

    • Oh my God, I totally forgot about that one. I’m going to have to check it out right now.

      And for some reason the mention of apes has made me think of Cooke and Moore’s one legged Tarzan. “Your right leg I like. I’ve got nothing against your right leg. the trouble is, neither have you.”

      Brilliant. 🙂

Leave a Reply

