30 Days of Meditation: day 27

Y’know what’s an unexpected problem when you’re meditating; your eyes.

I mean you’d think it was simple enough. They’re closed, end of discussion. But I find that, since I’m concentrating on the sensation of breath on the rim of my nostril, that my eyes tend to look down at my nose, and even to a certain degree start to cross.

It’s surprisingly hard to relax your eyes and just ‘look one mile’ when they’re closed and there’s nothing to (not) look at.

Still, that’s what I’m working on now. but that’s good, because it means I’ve moved on a little from thinking about my posture all the time.By sitting upright more and reducing the body signals by not moving I’m becoming more aware of other areas where I need work.

But that’s how we improve, bit by bit. I’m a lot closer to what I’m trying to do. I still follow the breath past the nose and down into the lungs, but I’m working on staying in one place. I’m getting there, it’s just gonna take a while. πŸ™‚

One thought on “30 Days of Meditation: day 27

  1. Isn’t it interesting all the little things we find in our body to distract us – stuff we’ve never even thought of! I sometimes have trouble with my eyes too. Nice to know I’m not alone. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

