The Power Of Introversion

In a world that values the outgoing what are introverts to do?

This TED Talk from Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can’t stop talking, really underlines a problem a lot of people have – ie: what are you to do when you’d rather read a book, or have a quiet conversation with someone, but the rest of the world thinks you should want to go party all the time?
 


 
It’s something I’ve struggled with most of my life. I’m quite quiet in nature, not good in large groups, and I’ve had to learn how to speak up and make myself heard. But it’s been difficult, especially in a work environment. How do you get your point across when you’re easily shouted down? Why do people think you are indecisive or unsure just because you take time to consider your answers?

It’s an excellent talk and something we need to consider if we’re all going to reach our full potential now and in the future.

2 thoughts on “The Power Of Introversion

  1. Amen to this! I go slightly crazy when I have to spend an extended period of time around large groups of people. I NEED solitude the way I need air to breathe.

Leave a Reply

