“How About A Nice Game Of Chess?”

First of all, I just watched WARGAMES for the first time in ages and I have to say, if you haven’t seen it recently, do! It’s still brilliant.

Beautifully written, good characters, simple storyline, great effects (for the 80s), and not an ounce of fat on it (production wise that is). Still a favourite of mine after all these years, and a quintessential lesson in how to write a screenplay.

(WARNING: only watch the clip below if you’ve seen the film or if you’re sure you’re not going to watch it again any time soon – it kind of gives the game away!)

I found the ‘what’s your next move’ motif very fitting when considering my life at the moment.

I’m somewhat stuck. I’ve made a few inroads towards where I want to be, but I’m now waiting for other people to get back to me, or simply for time to move forward, so there’s nothing I can do to advance my situation except wait.

The I-Ching tells us that a wise man knows when to move forward, when to retreat, and when to stand still; but knowing it and doing it are two different things, and right now I’m finding it a little frustrating.

It doesn’t help that some asshole side-swiped the back end of my car the other day whilst it was parked outside my house, denting the wing and smashing the tail light. It’s cost me £54 to get a new light (which won’t be here for 5 days because of the jubilee) and then there’s the wing to repair. God knows what that will cost me? I am not amused! So, as you can imagine, very keen to move out of London at the moment.

list - done!

Now that I know what I want to do, I’ve realised there’s two things I want to achieve before I go away; finish writing my book and build a vegan food blog (and I’ve got just 3 months to do them in). Now I did intend to do both at the same time, but I think concentrating on one (the book) is best until it’s done, then I can do the other.

After all, I can do the blog when I get back fairly easily, it’s just mechanics. But the book needs thought and creativity, and after several months abroad I might not have the focus it requires to get it done. Besides, I want to be able to re-write while I’m away, and I can’t do that unless I’ve written. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time off to write. it’s all work at the moment, be it housework or work work.

So that’s where I am at the moment, stuck in limbo (kind of) unable to move in any direction. But like all things, this too shall pass. Then you watch, pretty soon I’ll be complaining that it’s all going too fast, that I need to put on the brakes, slow things down, make some space so that I can get everything done, lol. Daft I know, but you know I’m right! 😉

As they say; be careful what you wish for, you just might get it. 😆

Leave a Reply

