the Yoga Bum

I’m half way through my time at the Sivananda Ashram, so I thought it’d be a good time to do a wee review of what it’s like to live the life of a Karma Yogi.

Just so we’re all on the same page, a Karma Yogi is a voluntary member of staff who lives and works at the ashram, doing whatever needs doing around the place. In return for this ‘selfless service’ you get fed and watered, the chance to do your yoga asanas every day, plus chanting and meditation sessions, and hopefully you get to advance in your practice little by little. For this reason it’s also known as a work/study program.

So, where to begin? Well first off I can tell you that I’ve certainly gone up in the world in terms of accommodation. I mean here’s where I started out on the TTC,

old digs

then I got moved…

View original post 1,114 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. You look so healthy and that smile is nothing short of fantastic! Keep working hard my friend, it will all be worth it in the end. Think of how much you are learning and growing, even if it happens between dish washing shifts! (:

    • Thanks Rikki. Yup, that’s a pretty natural grin and no mistake. 😀 It is pretty busy, but it’s so much better than what I was doing before. Everything is slowly fitting into place!

Leave a Reply

