Self-Contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus

the Yoga Bum

In case you didn’t know, that’s what SCUBA stands for; Self-Contained, Underwater, Breathing Apparatus. Good to know huh? One for the pub quizzes anyway, lol. 😉

going diving

Now I’ve never been SCUBA diving before, but I was rather excited about giving it a go. Actually I initially wanted to do my PADI certificate (or ‘dive ticket’ as the locals would call it) but unfortunately they didn’t have any dive courses running while we were in Port Douglas, so I had to settle for the introductory dive course instead (though I’m glad I did, and I’ll tell you why in a bit).

We had to delay heading out to the reef until our last full day in Port Douglas because of the afore mentioned hurricane, and even then as we headed out the weather didn’t look too promising.

grim weather heading out

Thankfully though the Great Barrier Reef, being a long way out, had a whole…

View original post 1,136 more words

Leave a Reply

